Posted in When Are You Reading Challenge

2021 When Are You Reading Challenge- Sign Up Post

I’ve been blogging on and off for three or four years as of writing but somehow I missed the When Are You Reading Challenge that’s been running since 2014.

The idea behind it is to read twelve books from twelve time periods, and I had made up a reading list before realising that I’ve already signed up to one reading challenge already- but I really want to take part in both, so here we are.

The When Are You Reading Challenge was created and hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words.


My Reading List

Pre-1300

The Odyssey or Macbeth

1300- 1499

Game Of Thrones

1500-1699

The Other Boleyn Girl

1700-1799

The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice and Virtue or The Lady’s Guide To Petticoats and Piracy

1800-1899

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes or The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

1900-1919

His Last Bow or Fall of Giants

1920-1939

The ABC Murders

1940-1959

Dear Mrs Bird

1960-1979

To Kill A Mockingbird

1980-1999

Die Trying

2000- Present

Beach Read or The Da Vinci Code

Future

Divergent or The Hunger Games


Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: 5 Books That Made Me Laugh

When I saw this prompt on the list for April’s topics over at Bionic Book Worm, I thought it would be easy. Then I looked at my bookshelves and realised about 90% of the books I own are either mystery or crime.

After some despairing, and wondering what the books I own says about me (I haven’t answered this yet and don’t really want to) I decided to interpret today’s topic loosely, and include books with scenes or lines of dialogue that made me laugh.


#5 Harry Potter & The Order Of The Phoenix

Order of The Phoenix is always one of the tougher HP books to reread, but the classic “Have a biscuit, Potter” earns it a place on this list.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)

#4 Fangirl

The dynamic between Cath and her sister Wren was accurate, in that like real-life siblings, they bickered and outright argued but showed their genuine care through sarcasm and insults.

Fangirl

#3 Heat Wave

This series was a spin-off from the TV series Castle, which used to run on ABC in America (or Your TV, in the UK), and although it’s far from serious literature, there was a ton of references to the show that made me laugh more than once while reading.

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat, #1)

#2 The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice & Virtue

While most of the conversations in The Gentleman’s Guide were serious or genuine and heartfelt, there was still the occasional sarcastic remark that I’m a sucker for.

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1)

#1 Angus, Thongs & Perfect Snogging

It’s been a while since I read this series, but I remember how much I enjoyed them.

Georgia never had a quiet life, between her parents’ unwillingness to accept their age, or her sister’s lack of boundaries, along with her own habit of creating chaos with her friends.

Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson, #1)
Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: Authors from K- O

I’m back with another Top 5 Tuesday post, which is a meme hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Bookworm.

March’s theme is author recommendations in alphabetical order, and so far I haven’t caved from trying to come up with names.


K

I’m fairly sure Karen McManus has appeared enough on this blog already, so I don’t think I need to explain myself on why she’s on yet another book-related list.

Two Can Keep a Secret by [McManus, Karen]

L

I’ve only read one of Mackenzi Lee’s books (The Gentleman’s Guide) but for Monty and Percy’s relationship alone, you need to read this novel if you like YA romance/ historical fiction.

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1)

M

M. Ruth Myers is the author of the Maggie Sullivan mystery series, which is set in the 1940’s. They’re fun and fast-paced, and ideal for fans of Marvel’s Agent Carter.

No Game For a Dame (Maggie Sullivan Mystery #1)

N

I haven’t read anything else of Jo Nesbo’s, but I loved this retelling of Macbeth and needed to include him here for it.

Macbeth (Hogarth Shakespeare)

O

I’ve picked James Oswald as my ‘O’ author for a few reasons. One is that I love the Inspector McLean series, two is that the 10th instalment has just recently been published and I managed to get myself a signed copy via Waterstones, and three is that I’m a teensy bit biased when it comes to crime writers from Scotland, because I’m also from Scotland, and my go-to genre is always crime, so the two are perfect together.

Natural Causes (Inspector McLean, #1)
Posted in Weekly Wrap Up

Monthly Wrap Up #1

After a few (and by that, I mean ‘a lot of’) failed attempts at writing up the reviews for the books I finished in January, I decided to give up and do a sort of overview instead.


January Reads:

One of Us Is Lying (One of Us is Lying, #1)

I wanted to reread One Of Us Is Lying because I’d preordered its sequel, One Of Us Is Next, and needed a refresh before returning to Bayview High.

I loved it as much as I did the first time around, which is always a bonus with a reread.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)

I started collecting the 2014 covers of the Harry Potter books when I found them in Tesco at 2 for £7 and that made me want to do a reread. I finished Philosopher’s Stone in December, and moved onto Chamber of Secrets just after Christmas.

One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)

I have never been as excited to read a sequel as I was with One Of Us Is Next. It was just as fast-paced and clever and sharp as the first Bayview High novel, and wrapped up the series perfectly.

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #1)

The book that the Tim Burton film was adapted on was a bit darker than I’d expected, but I enjoyed it, and I’m hoping to get round to the rest of the series soon.

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1)

I put off reading The Gentleman’s Guide for ages, but finally got round to it in January. And finished it within 2 weeks.

I can’t wait to continue with this series. Mackenzie Lee is a genius.

What I’m currently reading:

The Institute

I’ve just finished with The Institute, but I’m not reading anything else at the moment or made my choice on what I’ll move on to.

I’m kind of hoping The Institute gets a TV adaptation at some point. It has Stranger Things and X-Men vibes, but I think that’s why it’s so addictive, because the tropes are familiar and Stephen King is the writer putting his own spin on them.

Next Up:

Last week saw me moving departments at work, and starting training again. Seven days in and I’ve finally had the chance to meet everybody in my new team, and while I’m still feeling very much the newbie, I’m leaning cautiously on the side of being hopeful about this opportunity. (Though I’m too much of a pessimist to not add in that it’s way too early to say I’m going to like my new job.)

This change at work means I haven’t been doing much reading, or much of anything else, but I’m hoping to get started on All The Light We Cannot See, and possibly either Prisoner of Azkaban or the second Miss Peregrine novel, Hollow City.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)

Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: 5 Books That Exceeded My Expectations

I’m back with another Top 5 Tuesday, because I enjoyed working on last week’s prompt.

The meme is hosted by Bionic Bookworm, and all book covers I share in my posts have non-affiliate links to websites the books are available from.


#5 House of Silk

The House of Silk: The Bestselling Sherlock Holmes Novel (Paperback)

There were so many adaptations and interpretations of Sherlock Holmes’ story on Amazon that when I heard Anthony Horowitz was doing an official version, I was sceptical.

But what impressed me so much was how easily he carried on from Conan Doyle, and the only telling factor that someone else was behind the helm this time was the occasional moment of action, standard in his Alex Rider novels, but which didn’t feel out of place in this addition to the Sherlock Holmes canon.

#4 Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (Paperback)

It took me a few attempts before I committed to finishing this. Eleanor’s eccentricities and general snobbish outlook on her life and colleagues put me off, but curiosity won over and I kept reading, and in the end I was so glad I stuck with her.

I won’t spoil the ending, but it was definitely 10/10.

#3 Gentleman’s Guide to Vice & Virtue

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue - Montague Siblings 1 (Paperback)

It took me a while to get round to reading The Gentleman’s Guide but I fell in love with Monty and Percy and Felicity in the first chapter, so I had to include it on today’s top 5.

I didn’t know I needed a historical coming-of-age story in my life, but they don’t usually have a main character who is a lord and heir to an estate, and also bisexual and in love with his best friend. (And Monty also has a sister who does not want the only school she attends to be finishing school).

#2 The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games - The Hunger Games (Paperback)

I’ve never reread anything so many times as I have The Hunger Games, but when I first bought it, I had no idea what YA meant, or what I was getting myself in for.

Fast forward a few years, and I’m in serious need of getting myself a new set (preferably the anniversary editions which are gorgeous), and impatiently waiting for the new instalment in the series to be released in May this year.

#1 One of Us Is Next

One Of Us Is Next (Paperback)

I have a thing for sequels. And by thing, I mean fear. Because at least half of the sequels I’ve ever read didn’t live up to the hype.

But Karen McManus is a genius, and returned to Bayview High with some new characters, a new storyline, and a whole lot of drama, easily keeping up the standard set in One Of Us Is Lying.

Posted in WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday #1

If there’s a meme you’d associate with book blogs, it’s WWW Wednesday. Hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words, it’s a fun way to share your recent reads, keep track of your TBR list, and discover new blogs and new authors.

To take part, all you need to do is answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

IMG_1384-0

(All book covers will take you to Goodreads. There are no affiliate links in this post.)


What are you currently reading?

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue has been on my tbr list for almost a year, and while that isn’t the longest I’ve gone without reading a book, this one’s been getting postponed a lot.

But my reading goal for this year was to read all the books I’ve been putting off, so that’s what I’m doing, and I love Monty and Percy’s relationship.

What did you recently finish reading?

I was so excited when I found out One Of Us Is Lying was getting a sequel, and it did not disappoint.

After I finish Gentleman’s Guide I’ll be starting All The Light We Cannot See, and continuing my Harry Potter reread with Prisoner of Azkaban.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)